Video: Iggy pop, Josh homme perform debut single Gardenia togtether

New album Post Pop Depression is officially just an Iggy record.

Iggy Pop has shared the first single from the joint album he’s made with Queens Of The Stone Age singer Josh Homme.

The pair performed Gardenia on US chatshow The Late Show With Stephen Colbert on Thursday evening, before releasing the studio version of the song across streaming platforms.

Although their album Post Pop Depression will officially be credited to just Iggy Pop, Homme has already said the singers will do a joint tour for Post Pop Depression, which is released on March 18.

The sleeve of the album shows its other two guests with Pop and Homme – Queens Of The Stone Age keyboardist Dean Fertita and Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders.

Helders is playing with Pop while Arctic Monkeys take a break to allow Alex Turner to release his second album with The Last Shadow Puppets in April, his duo with Miles Kane.

The sleeve of Iggy Pop and Josh Homme's joint album Post Pop Depression
Depressing sleeve The cover of Iggy Pop and Josh Homme's joint album Post Pop Depression.

Pop said of Post Pop Depression: “A lot of geezers my age don’t work out of their comfort zone anymore, because once you become legendary you don’t want people challenging you.” He added: “I wanted to be free, and to be free I needed to forget. To forget, I needed music. Josh had that in him, so I set out to provoke an encounter. First, with a carefully worded text, followed by a deluge of writings all about me. No composer wants to write about nothing. Josh got revved up, and we had a great big rumble in the desert.”

The backing band for the nine-song album will also feature guitarists Troy Van Leeuwen from Queens Of The Stone Age and session player Matt Sweeney from Zwan and Bonnie Prince Billy.

Homme said: “This record was to go nowhere either of us had gone before. That was the agreement. And to go all the way.”

The album is Pop’s first since Apres in 2012, although he also made Ready To Die with The Stooges in 2013.

The tracklisting for the album is: Break Into Your Heart; Gardenia; American Valhalla; In The Lobby; Sunday; Vulture; German Days; Chocolate Drops; Paraguay.

Previous Post
Next Post

hinds interview

rationale interview