Video: 90 years of Oscar-winning visual effects in 9 incredible minutes

See just how far Hollywood films have come with this stunning supercut.

You probably haven’t seen the movie Wings, but it’s a significant film in Hollywood, making history by being the first ever Oscar winner for Best Visual Effects – or Engineering Effects as the prize was called back in 1929.

Without Wings, there’d be no Star Wars, no Jurassic Park and none of today’s expensive comic book movie that audiences lap up.

Wings is also first out of the gate in a new supercut video from Burger Fiction, the viral video specialists whose latest offering is an absolute essential watch.

Titled ‘Every Best Visual Effects Winner. Ever.’ it does exactly what it says on the tin. The entire history of the Academy Awards’ effects categories are documented in nine incredible minutes.

What’s fascinating to see is how early practical effects of the 30s and 40s focus in on aircraft and ships, before technology takes a leap in the 50s and science fiction comes to the fore.

2001: A Space Odyssey
Hello, HAL... Stanley Kubrick reinvented Hollywood visual effects with 2001: A Space Odyssey. Image Picture MGM

Destination Moon (1950), When Worlds Collide (1951) and The War Of The Worlds (1953) all arrive in quick succession – a good five years before Russia ignited the space race in 1957.

By the time Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey arrived in 1968 the doors are blown wide open for blockbusters Star Wars, Superman and Raiders Of The Lost Ark to sweep the field.

James Cameron’s The Abyss from 1989 is the first film to utilise computer graphics in its visual effects. Fast-forward four years and Steven Spielberg’s game-changer Jurassic Park – all CGI dinosaurs – is the game-changer for the modern-day Oscar-winner.

Since then, Oscars have gone to everything from Titanic to The Matrix, Lord Of The Rings and Interstellar.

This year’s Visual Effects field is made up of Ex Machina, Mad Max Fury: Road, The Martian, The Revenant and Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

And seeing as all three of the original Star Wars films bagged Oscars, it’s a safe bet to call JJ Abrams’s sequel the clear frontrunner.

Previous Post
Next Post

Help Leonardo DiCaprio win an Oscar with Red Carpet Rampage

The Revenant leads the way at Oscar nominations