England name Euro 2016 squad – Marcus Rashford in, Townsend and Drinkwater axed

Who's in and who's out?

England Wayne RooneyImage Picture Shaun Botterill/Getty

England has confirmed their final 23-man squad for Euro 2016 – and Manchester United hot property Marcus Rashford has made the cut.

Rashford’s explosive England debut against Australia last Friday secured him a seat on the plane, meaning Roy Hodgson is taking five strikers in total. Despite struggling for fitness, Liverpool’s Daniel Sturridge also bags a place in the line-up.

Less fortunate were Andros Townsend and Danny Drinkwater, who were both cut as Hodgson whittled the squad down from 26 to 23.

An injury to Fabian Delph meant that Drinkwater seemed to be going head-to-head with Jack Wilshire for a midfield berth. Wilshire has experienced an injury-prone season for Arsenal, but Hodgson chose him above Premier League title winner, Drinkwater.

Townsend experienced relegation with Newcastle this season and hasn’t been a regular in the England side since injury ruled him out of the World Cup in 2014.

Euro 2016 kicks off on June 10 as France take on Romania at the Stade de France. England’s opening game is against Russia the following day.

Below is the full 23-man England squad for Euro 2016…

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Fraser Forster (Southampton), Tom Heaton (Burnley).

Defenders: Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Everton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur), Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Ross Barkley (Everton), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), James Milner (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Strikers: Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United).

Previous Post
Next Post